To boldly go where no student has gone before!

The portfolio of the TU Wien Space Team also includes CubeSats. These are small satellites that are transported into space and perform a specific experiment there.
Together with the FH Wiener Neustadt, a CubeSat project has already been successfully implemented:

  • Pegasus:
    Our main task in this project was the development of the Power Supply Unit (PSU) and the Board Computer (OBC). The TU Wien Space Team also developed the hardware and software of the base plate with its own camera module, which provides photos from space.

From 2018 to 2020 the TU Wien Space Team was working on the CubeSat project DISCO One. However, this CubeSat remained a concept as the science payload – the modulating retro-reflector – couldn’t be realized.

  • DISCO One (Concept):
    The DISCO One project is developing and deploying a technology called Modulating retro-reflectors (MRR) designed specifically for micro-satellites that addresses these two issues.

In Summer 2020 a new project was started.

  • SpaceTeamSat1:
    The CubeSat shall provide an educational platform for students from AHS and HTL as the CubeSat holds a sensor board, which can be programmed individually. The read-out measurement data will then be transmitted back to Earth for further processing.

A presentation of the Pegasus and DISCO One CubeSat projets by Andreas Sinn at Space Event 2019 (German):

To boldly go where no student has gone before!

Zum Portfolio des TU Wien Space Teams gehören auch CubeSats. Das sind kleine Satelliten die in das All befördert werden und dort ein bestimmtes Experiment durchführen.
Zusammen mit der FH Wiener Neustadt wurde bereits ein CubeSat Projekt erfolgreich umgesetzt:

  • Pegasus:
    Unsere Hauptaufgabe in diesem Projekt waren die Entwicklung der Power Supply Unit (PSU) und des Boardcomputers (OBC). Das TU Wien Space Team entwickelte auch die Hardware und Software der Bodenplatte mit einem eigenen Kameramodul, das für Fotos aus dem All sorgt.

Von 2018 bis 2020 arbeitete das TU Wien Space Team an dem CubeSat Projekt DISCO One. Dieser CubeSat blieb jedoch ein Konzept, da die wissenschaftliche Nutzlast – der modulierende Retroreflektor – nicht realisiert werden konnte.

  • DISCO One (Konzept):
    Im Projekt „DISCO One“ wird eine Technologie namens Modulierende Retroreflektoren (MRR) speziell für Kleinstsatelliten entwickelt und eingesetzt, die diese zwei Probleme adressiert.

Im Sommer 2020 wurde ein neues Projekt gestartet.

  • SpaceTeamSat1:
    Der CubeSat soll eine Ausbildungsplattform für Schüler der AHS und HTL bieten, da der CubeSat ein Sensorboard enthält, das individuell programmiert werden kann. Die ausgelesenen Messdaten werden dann zur weiteren Verarbeitung zurück zur Erde übertragen.

Eine Präsentation der CubeSat Projekte Pegasus und DISCO One von Andreas Sinn auf dem Space Event 2019 (Deutsch):