The focus of TU Wien Space Team’s projects has always been on rockets. As time went by, our rocket portfolio grew bigger and more diverse. Today, we complete several rocket launches every year and are working on many rockets simultaneously:

  • Our beginner project FIRST gives our newcomers the unique opportunity to get familiar with the workflows within the TU Wien Space Team. In the course of this project small rockets are built and launched.
  • When the team was founded, the Space Team Rocket series, STR in short, used to be our only project. This year we are already manufacturing the ninth STR and are anticipating a launch in May.
  • The Hound is a two-staged rocket, which was built with the purpose of breaking the European altitude record for student teams. With a lenght of almost 4m The Hound is TU Wien Space Team’s largest rocket yet.
  • The project TXV – Base11 is a cooperation with the University of Toronto Aerospace Team. We are aiming for the prize money of 1 million USD with our very own liquid propellant rocket.

Seit der Geburtsstunde des TU Wien Space Teams lag unsere Kernkompetenz im Raketenbau. Unser Portfolio an Raketen ist in den letzten Jahren stetig angewachsen, und wir absolvieren jährlich mehrere Raketenstarts. Aktuell arbeiten wir an vier neuen Raketenprojekten:

  • Unser Einsteigerprojekt FIRST stellt für neuen Teammitglieder die Möglichkeit dar die Arbeitsweise des TU Wien Space Teams kennenzulernen. Im Rahmen des Projekts werden kleine Raketen gebaut und gestartet.
  • Unsere Space Team Rocket-Serie (kurz: STR) ist aktuell bereits in ihrer neunte Ausgabe angekommen. Über ein Studienjahr werden Experimentalraketen gefertigt und im Rahmen eines Events in Frankreich gestartet.
  • Das Projekt The Hound ist mit seiner zweistufigen Konstruktionsweise und Länge von knapp 4m die größte Rakete des TU Wien Space Teams, und theoretisch in der Lage des Weltall zu erreichen.
  • TXV – Base11 ist eine Kooperation mit dem University of Toronto Aerospace Team. Für den Gewinn von 1 Million USD Preisgeld gilt es mit einer selbstgebauten Rakete mit Flüssigtriebwerk das Weltall zu erreichen.