Project Thor included the construction of the first TU Wien Space Team test stand and engine. It was designed for operation with ethanol as the fuel. First, compressed air and then oxygen-enriched compressed air (Nitrox) was used as the oxidizer. The project opened the era of liquid propulsion for the Space Team, which is a significant step for student teams. The maximum measured thrust of this system was only 70N even after the upgrade to the Proteus engine, but the aim was to demonstrate that the Space Team was able to design, build and safely operate machines of this complexity. The test stand was decommissioned in 2019 and replaced by the TS02-500N.

The early milestones of the project:

December 2017: The propulsion working group conducts the first test series on fuel atomization.

March 2018: After three months of building the LE-01 Thor engine, the first cold flow test (without ignition) is carried out. For safety reasons, a water / compressed air mixture is used first. With the help of a transparent back pressure chamber, the flow behavior can be observed and documented under realistic conditions.

April 2018: The first hot fire test with ethanol / compressed air is carried out. Then compressed air is replaced by the more oxidizing Nitrox.

March 2019: The new LE-02 Proteus engine is put into service. Due to its modular design, the engine is primarily intended to test various combustion chamber and injector designs.

In the further course of 2019, upgrades were added, and an improved sensor system as well as a possibility for thrust vector measurement were integrated. The latter was implemented using three load cells on which the engine is suspended and which record the forces that occur during the test. In addition, three piezoelectric pressure sensors were installed, which measure the fuel, oxidizer and combustion chamber pressures. With this equipment, the Space Team achieved the first stable combustion in late summer 2019.

Projekt “Thor“ beinhaltete den Bau des ersten TU Wien Spaceteam-eigenen Teststands samt Triebwerk. Dieses war für den Betrieb mit Ethanol als Treibstoff ausgelegt. Als Oxidator kam zunächst Druckluft und dann mit Sauerstoff angereicherte Druckluft (Nitrox) zum Einsatz. Das Projekt eröffnete für das Spaceteam die Ära der Flüssigtriebwerksentwicklung (liquid propulsion), was für Studententeams einen beachtlichen Schritt darstellt. Der maximale gemessene Schub dieser Anlage betrug auch nach dem Upgrade auf das “Proteus” Triebwerk lediglich 70N, aber das Ziel zu demonstrieren, dass das Spaceteam in der Lage ist, Maschinen dieser Komplexität in Eigenregie zu entwerfen, zu bauen und sicher zu betrieben wurde damit erreicht. Der Teststand wurde 2019 außer Dienst gestellt und durch den TS02-500N abgelöst.

Die frühen Meilensteine des Projekts:

Dez. 2017: “Arbeitsgruppe Propulsion” führt erste Versuchsreihe zur Treibstoffzerstäubung durch.

März 2018: Nach dreimonatiger Bauzeit des Triebwerks LE-01 “Thor” wird der erste cold flow test (ohne Zündung) durchgeführt, aus Sicherheitsgründen kommt zunächst ein Wasser/Druckluft gemisch zum Einsatz. Mit Hilfe einer transparenten Gegendruckkammer kann das Strömungsverhalten bei realitätsnahen Bedingungen beobachtet und dokumentiert werden.

April 2018: Der erste Hotfire Test mit Ethanol/Druckluft wird durchgeführt. Danach wird Druckluft durch das stärker oxidierende Nitrox ersetzt.

März 2019: Das neue Triebwerk LE-02 “Proteus” wird in Dienst genommen. Das Triebwerk soll aufgrund seiner modularen Bauweise vor Allem dazu dienen verschiedene Brennkammer- und Injektor-Designs zu testen.

Im weiteren Verlauf des Jahres 2019 wurden Upgrades hinzugefügt, so wurde eine verbesserte Sensorik und eine Möglichkeit zur Schubvektormessung integriert. Letztere wurde über drei Kraftmesszellen realisiert an denen das Triebwerk aufgehängt ist und die während des Tests die auftretenden Kräfte aufzeichnen. Darüber hinaus wurden drei piezoelektrische Drucksensoren installiert, die den Brennstoff-, Oxidator- und Brennkammerdruck messen. Mit dieser Ausstattung erreichte das Spaceteam im Spätsommer 2019 die erste stabile Verbrennung.