The_Hound_In_Near_Space (Background: Nasa STS-64)
The_Hound – Sustainer near Apogee (Background Source: wikipedia/Thunderstorms_over_the_Pacific_seen_from_Earth_orbit_on_STS-64.jpg)

 

Short Description

Two stage rocket with commercial Motors.

  • Booster: Cesaroni Pro 98 N5800
  • Sustainer: Cesaroni Pro 75 M2245
  • Peak Altitude: > 100km (Sustainer)
  • Peak Velocity: > Mach 5 (Sustainer)

The Project

the_houndThe objective here is to build a two-stage rocket based on commercially available motors, which is optimized to achieve highest possible altitude within the limits of materials and manufacturing techniques available to our team.

The selected motors have a combined total impulse of about 30000Ns. For comparison purposes, this would be enough to accelerate a motor cycle to about 400kph (250mph). Because our rocket is much lighter, it will accelerate to about 5500kph (3400mph). At this speed, a marathon race would be finished in less than 30 seconds. Our simulations indicate that, dependent on actual aerodynamic parameters, an altitude of more then 100km (62mi) above ground could be achieved.

These number presents quite a challenge in various aspects. On one hand, we need to build different parts as light and small as possible to be able to obtain that speed and altitude. On the other hand, those values raise the requirements e.g. for toughness and heat resistance, demanding more special materials and manufacturing techniques. All in all this is a tricky multi variable optimization problem.

Other challenges include:

  • Ignition of upper stage motor
  • Determination of apogee altitude
  • Apogee detection and barometric altitude detection for two stage parachute deployment
  • On board video recording
  • Radio transmission of sensor data and – most importantly – landing coordinates.

All that said, the biggest challenge for Europeans is to find a launch site with an appropriate altitude wavier and safety radius. Thus far the only viable option would be to attend a launch event in the Black Rock Desert, Nevada, USA.

Nevertheless, up until now anything above 32.3 km (current record holder HyEnD/Stuttgart) would set a new “european university amateur club record” – and that is what we want to go for!

Key Components

  • Flight Computer: inertial measurement; GPS-data; liftoff-detection, separation, upper stage motor ignition and recovery initiation; telemetry
  • Central Ground Station: direct connection between operator and rocket, visualizes relevant parameters in real time
  • Autonomous Ground Stations: multiple distributed RF repeater extend reception area of central ground station. Autonomous logging of received data.
  • Airframe: Nose cone manufactured out of high temperature resistant fiber glass reinforce plastics. Rocket motors are structural parts of the airframe.
  • Staging Adapter: Integrated into sustainer tail cone: lightweight, stiff and compact.
  • Recovery: two stage design based on aramid drogue parachute and Nylon main parachute.
  • Fincan: Lightweight but full-metal design manufactured by Direct Metal Laser Sintering (DMLS), for heat dissipation and high strength. The interior isogrid-spar structure enables a superior strength-to-weight ratio.

Presentation of the project “42km – The Hound”

A presentation by former project manager Christian Plasounig, detailing the current status of the project as of May 2018, can be found here.

Further details about the project are included in the following videos:

 

Details about the project and the rocket itself

Read and hear more about the project:

  • The mission: Link
  • Avionics: Link
  • Mechanics and test flights: Link
  • Recovery: Link

Milestones as of 2019

  • In August 2016 the Space Team attended a rocket launch event in Manching, Germany, where the Space Team’s first ever two staged flight took place. A motor with low thrust was intentionally chosen in order to be able to easily observe the sequence of the two staged flight from the ground. This flight served as a successful proof of concept for the two stage flight.
  • Not long afterwards the teams very first supersonic flight took place. With a maximum acceleration beyond 30g, the rocket was accelerated to a velocity of 390m/s (Mach 1.14)within 1.4 seconds. Despite aerodynamic disturbances, that affected the barometric sensor while passing the transonic speed region, the flight computers apogee detection worked without a hitch
  • After many hours of construction, The Hound began to take its final shape. In May 2017, the upper stage of The Hound celebrated its maiden flight in Roitzschjora, Germany. The goal of this launch event was to test the new recovery system, the automatic apogee detection, the attitude estimation, and the radio modules with configurations almost identical to planned final configuration, that will be used for the European record attempt.
  • In early 2018 final tests were conducted in Roitzschjora, Germany, before the rocket was shipped to the US.
  • The first attempt to reach space was performed in 2018 in Nevada, USA. Read more about the results in the news.

Because the launch in the fall of 2018 was not successful, the TU Wien Space Team decided to extend the project for another attempt in 2019. Notably, two rockets will be used this time: “The Hound 2018” with only minor changes and an updated version of “The Hound” with a adapted concept based on previous experiences:

  • Improved telemetry integration including new antenna design
  • Iridium satellite communication system for redundancy
  • New upper stage ignition concept
  • New on board video cameras

With both rockets, our chances increase for successfully reaching our goal: to boldly go where no student has gone before. (Update: In Spring 2019 a US based student team successfully passed the Kármán line and established a new record for university teams. The current European record still stands at 32,3 km.)

Current State 2020

The launch in September 2019 unfortunately did not go as planned. Despite several delays The Hound 2 was launched, however, the upper stage only reached an altitude of about 2.5 km. Unfortunately, the avionic unit broke apart shortly after the launch, the data recording failed and neither of all four on-board cameras could be found afterwards. Additionally, the radio communication to the booster was interrupted midflight, which is why the booster couldn´t be recovered.  A more detailed final report can be found at final report 2019.

Currently work on an update is ongoing: The Hound 3.  The most important changes will be:

  • We are working on an avionic unit inside the coupler between the two stages which contains a camera, an autonomous GPS tracker and a GPS independent tracker (“bird finder”).
  • A new backup-device inside the booster because the one that was used up to now probably caused The Hound 2 to crash.
  • The top will be built from titan, instead of aluminum.
  • The electric connection of the headend ignition will be built more robust as just before the start of The Hound a cable broke and had to be fixed in a short amount of time right at the launch pad.
  • A change in the starting procedure in order to be more independent from the quality of the radio communication near ground.
  • More tests and test flights are supposed to make the platform “The Hound” more reliable, get rid of possible difficulties and give the team the possibility to further bring the starting procedure to perfection.

True to the motto “all good things come in threes”, the Hound-Team is optimistic that The Hound 3´s flight in 2020 will be a great success.

Simulation Results

The software packages OpenRocket and RASAero wer used to perform flight simulations. The results for “The Hound 2” are presented below:

Projekt team

Past and present team members (in alphabetical order)

  • Christian Plasounig (Projektleiter bis 2018)
  • Christoph Fröhlich (Projektleiter ab 2019)
  • Andreas Bauernfeind
  • Tobias Bauernfeind
  • David Birschitzky
  • Florian Guggi
  • Alexander Hartl
  • Michael Hauser
  • Thomas Hirschbüchler
  • Patrick Kappl
  • Peter Kremsner
  • Benjamin Luxbacher
  • Ulrich Meisl
  • Simon Neumüller
  • Moritz Novak
  • Julian Präsent
  • Reinhard Rath
  • Stefan Schaffer
  • Stefan Schindler
  • Manuel Schleiffelder
  • Benedikt Stingl
  • Silvia Tirler

The_Hound_In_Near_Space (Background: Nasa STS-64)
The_Hound – Sustainer near Apogee (Background Source: wikipedia/Thunderstorms_over_the_Pacific_seen_from_Earth_orbit_on_STS-64.jpg)

 

Kurzfassung:

Simulation details (OpenRocket)

Zweistufige Rakete mit kommerziellen Motoren

  • Unterstufe: Cesaroni Pro 98 N5800
  • Oberstufe: Cesaroni Pro 75 M2245
  • Max. Höhe: >100km (Oberstufe)
  • Max. Geschwindigkeit: >Mach 5 (Oberstufe)

 

Das Projekt

the_hound
CAD Model Rendering of “The Hound”

Unser Ziel ist es, eine zweistufige Rakete mit kommerziell verfügbaren Motoren zu bauen, die auf maximale Höhe optimiert ist. Limitiert sind wir durch die uns zu Verfügung stehenden Materialien und Fertigungstechniken.

Die ausgewählten Motoren haben einen Gesamtimpuls von ca. 30000 Ns. Zum Vergleich: Mit diesem Impuls könnte man ein Motorrad auf 400km/h beschleunigen. Weil jedoch unsere Rakete wesentlich leichter ist beschleunigt diese auf 5500km/h. Bei dieser Geschwindigkeit würde man die Länge eines Marathons in unter 30 Sekunden zurückgelegen. Unsere Simulationen legen nahe, dass – in Abhängigkeit von den tatsächlichen aerodynamischen Parametern – Höhen von mehr als 100 km über dem Boden erreicht werden können.

Diese Zahlen stellen in verschiedener Hinsicht eine Herausforderung dar. Einerseits müssen wir die Rakete so leicht und klein wie möglich bauen, um diese Geschwindigkeit und Höhe erreichen zu können. Andererseits erhöhen diese Werte den Bedarf an Festigkeit und Hitzebeständigkeit, die speziellere Materialien und Fertigungstechniken erfordern. Alles in allem ist dies ein schwieriges Optimierungsproblem mit mehreren Variablen.

Weitere Herausforderungen sind:

  • Zündung des Motors der Oberstufe
  • Bestimmung der erreichten Höhe
  • Apogäumdetektion und barometrische Höhenerkennung zum Auslösen der Bergung der ersten und zweiten Stufe (2-stufiges Bergungskonzept)
  • On-Board Videoaufnahmen
  • Funkkontakt während des ganzen Fluges aufrechterhalten
  • Übermitteln von Sensordaten und vor allem der Landekoordinaten

Die größte Herausforderung für uns als europäisches Team besteht jedoch darin, einen Startplatz mit einer geeigneten Höhenfreigabe und passendem Sicherheitsradius zu finden. Bisher ist die einzig gangbare Option ein Start in der Black Rock Wüste, Nevada, USA im Rahmen des Events “BALLS” der amerikanischen Tripoli Rocketry Association.

Dennoch würde bisher alles über 32,3 km (aktueller Rekordhalter ist HyEnD/Stuttgart) einen neuen Höhenrekord für “von europäischen Studierendenteams gebaute Experimentalraketen” aufstellen – und das ist es, was wir erreichen wollen!

Kernkomponenten

  • Avionik-System: Inertialmessung; GPS-Daten; Start-Detektion, Zündung der Stufentrennung, des Oberstufenmotors und des Recovery-Systems; Telemetrie.
  • Zentrale Bodenstation: stellt die Verbindung zur Rakete her; visualisiert alle flugrelevanten Parameter der Rakete in einer grafischen Oberfläche in Echtzeit
  • Autonome Bodenstationen: mehrere über das Gebiet verteilte RF-Repeater erweitern den Empfangsbereich der zentralen Bodenstation; speichern zusätzlich die empfangenen Datenpakete lokal unabhängig von der zentralen Bodenstation.
  • Mechanische Struktur: Spitze aus hochtemperaturbeständigem Glasfaserverbundwerkstoff; Motorrohre sind tragende Teile der mechanischen Struktur.
  • Stufenkupplung: im Design des Hecks der Oberstufe integriert: leicht, steif und kompakt.
  • Bergungssystem: zweistufiges Design mit hitzefestem Aramid-Vorschirm sowie einem Nylon-Hauptschirm
  • Aerodynamisches Leitwerk: leichtes Design aus Metall, welches per Direct-Metal-Laser-Sintering (DLMS) hergestellt wird; sorgt für eine ausreichende Wärmeableitung, um eine hohe Festigkeit bei höheren Geschwindigkeiten zu erreichen; eine hybride Isogrid-Holm Struktur im Innenraum sorgt für eine hervorragendes Festigkeits-Gewichts-Verhältnis;

Eine Präsentation des Projektleiters a. D. Christian Plasounig, welcher den Stand des Projektes im Mai 2018 präsentiert, findet sich hier.

Weitere Details über das Projekt und die Rakete sind in folgenden Videos zu sehen:

Meilensteine bis 2018

  • Im August 2016 nahm das Space Team an einem Raketenflugtag in Manching, Deutschland, teil, wo der erste zweistufige Testflug des Space Teams stattfand. Es wurde absichtlich ein Motor mit geringem Schub gewählt, um den Ablauf des zweistufigen Fluges vom Boden aus beobachten zu können. Dieser Flug demonstrierte erfolgreich den geplanten Flugablauf.
  • Nicht lange danach fand der erste Überschallflug des Teams statt. Mit einer maximalen Beschleunigung des 30-fachen der Erdbeschleunigung wurde die Rakete innerhalb von 1,4 Sekunden auf 390 m/s (Mach 1,14) beschleunigt. Trotz der aerodynamischen Störeffekte beim Passieren des transsonischen Bereichs, funktionierte die Gipfelpunkt-Erkennung der Bordcomputer reibungslos.
  • Nach langer Entwicklungszeit nahm “The Hound” endlich seine endgültige Form an. Im Mai 2017 absolvierte die Oberstufe von “The Hound” in Roitzschjora (Deutschland) ihren Jungfernflug. Das Ziel dieses Tests bestand darin, das neue Bergungssystem, die automatische Gipfelpunkt-Erkennung, die Lageschätzung und die Funkmodule zu testen. Dies sollte in einer Konfigurationen stattfinden die nahezu identisch jener ist, welche für den europäischen Rekordversuch verwendet werden soll.
  • Anfang 2018 wurden die letzten Tests in Roitzschjora (Deutschland) durchgeführt, bevor die Rakete in die USA verschifft wurde.
  • Der erste Versuch den Rekord zu brechen wurde 2018 in Nevada (USA) gestartet. Aufgrund eines Fehlers im Avioniksystem wurde die Oberstufe jedoch nicht gezündet und somit lediglich eine Höhe von ca. 13km erreicht. Mehr dazu in dem Blogbeitrag (Link).

Aktueller Status 2019

Da der Startversuch im Herbst 2018 nicht erfolgreich verlief, beschloss das TU Wien Space Team das Projekt zu verlängern und 2019 einen neuen Versuch zu starten. Wesentlich dabei ist, dass die Reise nach Nevada mit zwei Raketen angetreten wird: “The Hound 2018” mit nur minimalen Änderungen sowie einem Update von “The Hound 2”, welches das Konzept basierend auf den Erfahrungen des letzten Starts in mehreren Punkten adaptiert:

  • Verbesserte Integration des Telemetriesystems inklusive neuem Antennendesign
  • Iridium-Satellitenkommunikationsmodul als redundante Funkstrecke
  • Neues Konzept zur Zündung der Oberstufe
  • Neue Onboard-Videokameras

Mit den beiden Raketen erhöht sich nun die Erfolgschance um unser Ziel zu erreichen: to boldly go where no student has gone before. (Update: Im Frühjahr 2019 wurde mit einer Rakete eines amerikanischen Studierendenteams die von Kármán – Linie überschritten und somit ein neuer Weltrekord von Universitätsteams aufgestellt wurde. Der aktuelle europäische Rekord liegt nach wie vor bei 32,3 km.)

Simulationsergebnisse

Zur Simulation des Fluges wurden die bewährten Programme OpenRocket und RASAero verwendet. Die Ergebnisse, basierend auf den aktuellen Parametern von “The Hound 2”, wollen wir hier präsentieren:

Die Präsentation des Projekts durch den Projektleiter Christoph Fröhlich im Rahmen des Space Events 2019:

Projektteam

Beteiligt an dem Projekt waren bzw. sind (alphabetisch sortiert)

  • Christian Plasounig (Projektleiter bis 2018)
  • Christoph Fröhlich (Projektleiter ab 2019)
  • Andreas Bauernfeind
  • Tobias Bauernfeind
  • David Birschitzky
  • Alexander Hartl
  • Michael Hauser
  • Thomas Hirschbüchler
  • Patrick Kappl
  • Peter Kremsner
  • Ulrich Meisl
  • Simon Neumüller
  • Moritz Novak
  • Reinhard Rath
  • Stefan Schaffer
  • Stefan Schindler
  • Manuel Schleiffelder
  • Benedikt Stingl